Author Topic: My story  (Read 3722 times)

The 9th Man

• View Profile
My story
« on: July 30, 2015, 02:57:35 AM »
Hi everybody.  I never normally like to make public posts about things this close to my heart, so bare with me if this isn't exactly the most well written post.  I'm a computer scientist in my late 20s, was raised and still am a Christian, and I've been noticing elevens for at least a year.

Truthfully though, I'm really not sure exactly how long it's been.  I've never brought it up to anyone, and I assumed it was just a massive bout of confirmation bias.  2011 was a very, very rough year for me, as my best friend since I was just a toddler passed away from cancer.  Sure, occasionally we'd have our differences, but I did everything I could to stick by him and make him feel comfortable and loved until the very end.  His death day was the most devastating day of my life, and I can still replay the moment I found out he had passed in my head clearer than whatever I did ten minutes ago.

So, over time, elevens started to stick out to me.  I'd see eleven minute youtube videos, eleven dollar pricetags I'd stumble across; I even had a job where the only nearby restaurant was a McDonalds.  My favorite combo meal?  The Filet o' Fish.  #11, of course.  And just like everyone else, I was disproportionately seeing *:11 on clocks all the time.  But it's definitely confirmation bias.   It's got to be, right?  You know, the cognitive bias where if you focus on something in particular, you start to see it everywhere?  Well, one odd thing is that the other digits of my friend's death day don't stand out to me at all.  He passed away on August 21st, but I never notice eights or twenty-ones everywhere.  I don't look at the clock and see *:21, let alone 8:21 disproportionately.

So, this has continued on through a few weeks ago.  I've still never mentioned this to a single soul, when one day my mom comes over for a visit.